top of page

Kylie Lip Kit Swatches + Review


Follow my instagram: Basicbillie

So I know this post feels ancient as everyone and their dog has reviewed these Kylie lip kits (KLP). But I thought I wanted to add my opinion. When Kylie first spoke about these lip kits I was first to know I wanted one. Although never being a huge fan of the 'Kardashian/Jenner' brand or show. I knew I needed this on my collection, the shade range was all nudes which are my favourite.

My first lip kit I received was for my birthday which was Candy K this was on the first release of the lip kits.

Packaging? A little fact about me if i like the packaging I'll buy it regardless of the actual product anyone else the same...

The packaging for KLP's, the box is black with white drips down the side. This made it very obvious to see what the gift was but the boxes have now changed and just a plain black box (guessing this is to make it less noticeable.)

The box is very large and bulky in my opinion especially just for one lip kit.

Inside the box comes a nice laminated card which has the Kylie logo on the one side and a printed hand written (mass produced) card.

The lipkit is white packaging with the colour around the edges of the box. The packaging is pretty simple but really aesthetically pleasing, the Kylie logo is bam smack in the middle with her name written in black on the bottom. Also the logo has the colour of the shade on. The teeth on the logo are also holographic which also adds to the pleaser of the packaging, I am a right sucker for good packaging.

The back of the packaging is very basic on the top there is her signature dipping logo, Kylie has also granted us with her signature written on the back. She also added 'Kylie's Tips' I mean there is much tips you can give on how to apply a lipstick but each to their own. Finally there is the ingredients of the lipstick and liner.'Onto the lipstick and liner, the lipstick has a glossy finish with a plain black lid the bottle also has her drips on it with written 'Kylie' in the middle. The bottle is see through so the colour is shown. The front also says Matte/Gloss/Metallic on the front as well with it in French underneath (I think)... Although you can't see the shade name on the front there is a sticker with the name on the bottom of the lipstick.

The liner is also plain black with silver writing again with Kylie's name written and the shade name and the bottom has the colour of the shade, very similar to MAC's liners.

First Impression?So my first first impression... When opening the lipstick and instant smell of vanilla cupcakes hits me, I mean its such a nice smell. The lip liner is so smooth and easy to use there is no pain or dragging the formula is perfect... Except I mean these lipsticks would be almost impossible to beat except this one problem, the liner. I'm not sure why but the liner when you start using it, it seems to fall down the tube. It doesn't seem to have the same velocity (unsure if thats the correct word) like even when i sharpen it the liner seems to disappear and I have to shake it a couple of times to get the liner to come back again. Weird I know!! Although aside from that the liner is great and the best formula.

When you apply the lipstick it glides across any bumps on the lips and doesn't sit in any fine lines. I feel that these are super comfortable to wear and don't seem to be super drying, I mean any liquid lipstick is going to feel drier as thats it's formula. The scent does lessen when you apply on the lips which I like as I think it could become slightly sickly. I can wear these lipsticks all day and no need for reapplication. Although the darker shades maybe more patchy when applying so would defo recommend having the liner underneath, which I don't believe you need with the nude shades.

Prices? The lipkits which include a liner retail at $29 (£23) - Works about £13 for the lipstick and £10 for a liner (Cheaper then mac).

Single Matte lipsticks retail at $17 (£13)

Single Lip liners retail at $14 (£11)

Shipping and Customs/Taxes?

Shipping for international is $14.95 (just under £12)

At the moment its free domestic shipping over $40 and free international shipping over $60

I always get customs on the lipkits but NOT singles. If I buy one lip kit i'll get customs but if i purchase one single i get no customs.

As Kylie works with the royal mail, the royal mail charges £8 handling fee. They do this because they have to hold it at their office which I find cheeky because I would happily pay for it at my door (I guess they can't do this due to regulations and well gives them more money.) But Tax usually is 20% of the price so around £4.60 for every lipkit.

Obviously this is annoying but the country has customs so we have to deal with it.

I'll be uploading all of my swatches and pictures tomorrow!! Also hopefully soon comparing fakes against real ones so people wont be fooled!

FOLLOW ME

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon

STAY UPDATED

POPULAR POSTS

TAGS

No tags yet.
bottom of page